Erasmus, Stellenbosch Universities join forces

logoeurErasmus University Rotterdam and Stellenbosch University (South Africa) are going to collaborate even more intensively. On Tuesday, 11 November 2014, Rector Magnificus Prof. Huibert Pols, on behalf of Erasmus University, and Prof. Johan Hattingh, on behalf of SU, signed a Memorandum of Understanding and a partnership agreement in respect of a joint PhD programme. There is already faculty and institutional level cooperation with Stellenbosch University.

Amongst other things, Erasmus University and Stellenbosch intend to investigate in which areas they could cooperate even further; and programmes for joint scientific research will also be stimulated. In addition, both universities are investigating the potential for exchanging researchers and students, to broaden the curriculum for example. Erasmus School of Economics (ESE), the Faculty of Social Sciences (FSW) and Erasmus School of History, Culture and Communication (ESHCC) already exchange students with Stellenbosch University. The term of the MoU is five years.

PhD Students
As well as the MoU, Pols and Hattingh signed a partnership agreement for the development of a joint PhD Programme (joint doctorate). Since 2012, PhD students from the International Institute of Social Studies (ISS) and Stellenbosch University have been collaborating. Annually, a PhD workshop is organised whereby PhD students from both universities present their research, the purpose being to learn from one another. The success of these workshops has resulted in a joint PhD programme being established. The PhD collaboration will now be rolled out throughout the whole of Erasmus University.

The two agreements with Stellenbosch University fit in with Erasmus University´s new strategy, Impact & Relevance, in which internationalisation plays an important role. This spring, the university also signed two new agreements with Chinese universities: Tsinghua University and Wuhan University. Furthermore, the collaboration with Fudan University was extended.

About Stellenbosch University
Stellenbosch University, the origins of which go back to the seventeenth century, has approximately 28,000 students (including more than 3,000 foreign students) and an academic staff of almost 3,000. The university is situated in the Western Cape province. Stellenbosch University has ten faculties: AgriSciences, Economic and Management Sciences, Medicine and Health Sciences, Engineering, Military Sciences, Arts and Social Sciences, Science, Education, Law and Theology.